Friday, March 20, 2009

How to Check the browser's cache settings.

Using the recommended settings can improve browser performance by instructing the browser to display stored pages, rather than download fresh pages from the server, when revisiting a site.This post provide some browser support tips for check browser's cache setting in Internet Explorer and Netscape browser.

Recommended cache settings

1. Set your browser to refresh Web pages automatically when necessary. Do not specify that the browser refresh a page each time you view it.
2. Allocate adequate disk space for the browser cache. 10 MB is recommended. Do not specify zero space for the cache, and avoid allowing it to be larger than 50 MB.
3. Do not configure Internet Explorer to clear the cache each time you exit the browser (Supported Netscape browsers have no equivalent setting).
4. Retain the browser's History (log of recently visited sites) for 4 days.
5. Before changing settings. • Before changing cache/history settings, write down your current settings so that you can restore them if the new settings cause problems.
6. If you experience problems with Connexion browser or with other web-based applications when using the recommended cache settings, see 6. Resolve caching problems.

Internet Explorer
1. On the Tools menu click Internet Options.
2. On the General tab, under Temporary Internet Files, click Settings.
3. In the Settings dialog box, under Check for newer versions of stored pages, click Automatically.
4. Under Amount of disk space to use, type 10 in the text box.
5. Then click OK to close the Settings dialog box.
6. On the General tab, under History, for Days to keep pages in history, type 4 in the text box.
7. On the Advanced tab, under Security (the last group of items in the list), clear (uncheck) the check box labeled Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed.
8. Click OK to close the Internet Options dialog box.

Netscape
1. On the Edit menu click Preferences.
2. In the left pane of the Preferences dialog box, under Navigator, click History.
3. In the right pane (the History panel), under Browsing history, for Remember visited pages for the last __ days, type 4 in the text box.
4. In the left pane of the Preferences dialog box, under Advanced, click Cache.
5. In the right pane (the Cache panel), under Set Cache Options, change the number in the text box to 10. Make sure this number is not 0.
6. Under Compare the page in the cache to the page on the network, select When the page is out of date.
7. Then click OK to apply the changes and close the dialog box.

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Microsoft Tightens IE 7's Security

This post provide information about Internet Explorer 7 security support . Microsoft has detailed several changes in the way its upcoming Internet Explorer (IE) 7 browser will classify Web sites for security, aiming to reduce the likelihood that users will fall victim to malicious code.

The browser, which will be released separately and also as part of the forthcoming Windows Vista operating system, is expected to ship in 2006, probably before Vista.

Network Admin Options
However, if a machine is running on a domain, IE 7 will automatically detect the intranet sites and revert to the intranet zone settings. Network administrators will be able to set group policies to ensure the browser runs as desired, the engineers wrote.

In Microsoft Windows Vista, the Internet zone will run in what the company calls "protected mode," to help protect against attacks that IE has been victim to in the past. Another feature, ActiveX Opt-In, will reduce potential damage from malicious Active X controls in the Internet zone, the engineers said. Those changes will be reflected in a new security level setting for the Internet zone, "medium high."

The "Trusted sites" zone, which provides a lot of autonomy for specific Web sites selected by the end user, will also change. It will now have a default security setting of "medium," the same as the Internet zone in IE 6. Users will be able to lower the setting if they want to, the engineers wrote.

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Upgrading to Internet Explorer 8 Release Candidate 1

Just like for previous beta releases, I am going to guide you through the upgrade steps for Internet Explorer 8 Release Candidate 1 (IE8 RC1).

Before we begin, let me summarize the major changes you will see when installing IE8 RC1:

1. If you are a Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008 user and you are upgrading from IE8 Beta 1 or Beta 2 to IE8 RC1, you are no longer required to manually uninstall earlier IE8 builds. Instead, IE8 RC1 installer will automatically upgrade your machine from the earlier IE8 builds to the latest IE8 build, all with a single reboot.

2. There is a new pre-requisite for IE8 RC1 (KB957388). This update supersedes KB943302 and KB957055 and will be automatically installed as part of your RC1 upgrade, as long as you keep “Install the latest updates” checkbox checked. This update addresses known application compatibility issues in Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 and improves the performance and reliability of IE8.

3. All IE8 Beta 1 and Beta 2 users will be offered IE8 RC1 via Windows Update in 25 languages. For Windows XP and Windows Server 2003, the IE language that gets offered via Windows Update will match the base OS language. For Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008, the IE language that gets offered via Windows Update will match the Active Language that the user selected for their account.

Note: If you are running Windows 7 Beta, you will not be able to install IE8 RC1. You will get an error message saying that your operating system is not supported since IE8 already ships in Win7. The IE8 RC1 available from Microsoft Download Center is a standalone upgrade for downlevel version of the OS only: Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows Server 2008 and Window Server 2003.

Here are some additional resources you can refer to during the RC1 installation:

* System requirements for RC1 are the same as Beta1 and Beta2.
* Release notes for RC1 outline a few scenarios you should watch out for when installing IE8 RC1.
* Internet Explorer Support for any problems during your installation.

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Firefox will not start after installing or updating McAfee SiteAdvisor

Firefox may fail to open after:
* installing or updating the McAfee SiteAdvisor Firefox extension, or
* updating McAfee software that includes the SiteAdvisor component

According to MacAfee, the problem is caused by a conflict between SiteAdvisor and automatic proxy configuration scripts in Firefox. To fix this problem, you must start Firefox in Safe mode and uninstall the SiteAdvisor extension. This post describe how to troubleshoot this browser problems. Follow below given

1. Close down Firefox completely: At the top of the Firefox window, click the File menu, and select the Exit menu item.Close down Firefox completely: On the menu bar, click the Firefox menu, and select the Quit Firefox menu item.Close down Firefox completely: At the top of the Firefox window, click the File menu, and select the Quit menu item.
2. In Windows, click Start, open the All Programs list, and navigate to the Mozilla Firefox folder. In the Mozilla Firefox folder, select Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode).
3, Mac OS:
Hold down the Option key, as you start Firefox.
2.0, Mac OS:
Go to the Utilities directory (in the Applications folder) and open Terminal, then run:

/Applications/Firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/firefox -safe-mode

Go to your Terminal and run:

/path/to/firefox/firefox -safe-mode

3. Firefox should start up with a Firefox Safe Mode dialog.

Note: You can also start Firefox in Safe Mode by clicking Start, selecting Run (or use the Start Search box in Windows Vista) and then entering the following in the text field:

--------------------firefox -safe-mode



4. When Firefox starts in Safe Mode, select the Tools menu at the top of the Firefox window, and select Add-ons. The Add-ons window opens.
5.In the Add-ons window, select the Extensions panel.
6. Select the SiteAdvisor extension.
7. Click Uninstall.
8. If SiteAdvisor is installed as part of a McAfee software package such as McAfee Internet Security Suite, you can selectively remove just the SiteAdvisor component using the McAfee uninstaller. For more information, see the documentation that came with the MacAfee product.

Friday, February 20, 2009

Fix Service Unavailable Problems 0x80080203 and 0x80080204

Computer settings may be preventing you from validating Windows XP. you got a problem with internet services unavailable, Internet browser error.

To fix this problem follow the steps:

1.Start Internet Explorer, click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
2.Click the Security tab, and then click Custom Level.
3.Make sure that the related ActiveX Control options are enabled.
4.If you have third-party firewall software installed, disable the firewall.
5.Make sure that the Date and Time settings for the computer are correct.
6.Validate Windows XP again.

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Outlook Live for IE, Firefox and Safari

Microsoft has not only taken Exchange Labs, its hosted email service aimed at university and college users, to the next level, but also rebranded the offering entirely in the process. On the way to Exchange 14, the next iteration of Exchange, the evolution of Exchange Labs is synonymous with the introduction of Outlook Live, which was unveiled at the end of the past week. But the new moniker is not the sole change, as Microsoft introduced a range of new features and improvements, focused on making the service more user friendly, but also to deliver additional performance and increase productivity. According to Microsoft, Outlook Live has in excess of 3.5 million users with Live@edu addresses.

“One of the biggest features we're announcing today is multi-browser support for the premium version of Outlook Web Access (OWA). With Exchange 14, you can access the premium version of OWA or Outlook Live with Firefox, Safari, and Internet Explorer. We’ve always supported all browsers with what we call 'OWA Light', a simpler version of OWA. The difference now is that you can get the full rich experience with drag ‘n drop & the rest of that AJAX-y goodness in all three browsers,” revealed KC Lemson, User Experience Manager for Exchange.

Lemson indicated that the concept of openness is in fact an integral part of Exchange's DNA. Adding support for rival browsers such as Firefox and Safari on top of Internet Explorer for Outlook Live is yet another example of Exchange's openness, which also includes Exchange ActiveSync licensing, and support for iPhone and Nokia phones on top of Windows Mobile devices.

“One of the things we're doing in E14 to address [the email overload] is introducing a new, turbo-charged conversation view. Although I get easily a hundred messages to me a day, they are usually part of the same 15 or 20 threads, so I use the new conversation view to make it far easier to keep track of the entire discussion at a time instead of letting the old ones slowly accrete in my inbox. So for me, conversations lets me cut down the items I have to deal with from 100 unique email messages to say ~20 conversations, cutting 80% of the clutter - and we're just getting started on that problem,” added.

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Fix ieframe.dll not found or missing error

This post describes issues with IE 7.0.Most ieframe.dll 'not found' or 'missing' type of errors occur when using Internet Explorer 7 or while using Visual Basic 6. The ieframe.dll DLL files is related to Internet Explorer 7. In many cases, the installation of Internet Explorer 7 causes ieframe.dll errors to appear. Other causes include viruses, certain Windows Updates, incorrect firewall settings, outdated security software applications, and more.

Important : Do not, under any circumstances, download the ieframe.dll DLL file individually from any 'DLL download site.'

Optimize Internet Explorer.
Disable Phishing Filter
Open Internet Explorer 7.
From the Internet Explorer 7 command bar, choose Tools, then Phishing Filter, and finally Phishing Filter Settings.
In the Internet Options window that appears, locate the large Settings text area and scroll all the way to the bottom and locate the Phishing Filter options.
Under Phishing Filter, choose the Disable Phishing Filter radio button option.
Click OK on the Internet Options window.
Close Internet Explorer 7.
If you were troubleshooting an issue, repeat whatever steps caused your problem to see if disabling the Phishing Filter in Internet Explorer 7 has corrected it.

Disable Windows Firewall
Click on Start and then Control Panel.
Click on the Network and Internet Connections link.
Note: If you're viewing the Classic View of Control Panel, double-click on the Network Connections icon and skip to Step 4.
Under the or pick a Control Panel icon section, click on the Network Connections link.
In the Network Connections window, right-click on your network connection and choose Properties.

Note: If you have a 'high speed' Internet connection like Cable or DSL, or are on a network of some kind, your network connection will likely be titled Local Area Connection.

Choose the Advanced tab in the Properties window of your network connection.
In the Windows Firewall section under the Advanced tab, click on the Settings... button.
Choose the Off (not recommended) radio button in the Windows Firewall window.
Click OK in this window and click OK again in the Properties window of your network connection.
You can now close the Network Connections window.
Now that the Windows Firewall is disabled, repeat whatever steps caused your problem to see if disabling this option has fixed your problem.

Update Non-Window Firewalls
Disable Protected Mode.
Open Internet Explorer 7.
From the Internet Explorer 7 command bar, choose Tools and then Internet Options
In the Internet Options window, click on the Security tab.
Below the Security level for this zone area, and directly above the Custom level... and Default level buttons, uncheck the Enable Protected Mode checkbox.

Note: Disabling Protected Mode requires a restart of Internet Explorer 7, as you may have seen next to the checkbox in this step.

Click OK on the Internet Options window
If you're prompted with a Warning! dialog box, advising that The current security settings will put your computer at risk., click the OK button.
Close Internet Explorer 7 and then open it up again.
Try again to visit the web sites that were causing your problems to see if resetting the Internet Explorer 7 security settings on your computer helped.

Important: Protected Mode in not available with Internet Explorer 7 when installed on Windows XP. Windows Vista is the earliest operating system that supports Protected Mode in IE7. Re-install IE 7.0 or upgrade to latest Internet Explorer.